Skip to content

I Love Gooooooooold!

01/08/2013

So I recently celebrated my golden birthday, which happens to land on a very popular holiday.

IMG_1029

Christmas!  I know, I’m really behind in posting about x-mas.  So let’s just pretend it’s primarily to talk about my birthday, mkay?  K, thanks!

Michael and I spent Christmas Eve at his family’s home (which is conveniently only 20 minutes from mine- we didn’t know each other when we went to rivalry high schools, we met in college!)

We went to the children’s mass and I snuck some pics in the pews – I knowwww, naughty!

IMG_1024Luckily we had really good lighting to take some high quality pics 😉 (My brother-in-law and his fiancee)

IMG_1025Me, Michael and his sister.  His parents and other brother were in the pew in front of us.

Afterwards we made it home to eat some delicious food that my mother-in-law and I made while slaving in the kitchen all day.  Just kidding! Well we did but it was actually fun, cuz I like to be in the kitchen.

My plate:

IMG_1035I made the chipotle smashed sweet potatoes and stuffed mushrooms!  My MIL made the turkey, salad and corn from the cob.  Nothing beats Iowa corn!  It’s awesome freezing a batch of it from the summer and having it all year around.

We made our way downstairs for the opening of gifts,

IMG_1037

including a new yoga mat and lululemon yoga bag from Michael(!!!)

….and thinking that we were done with presents- his mom runs upstairs and comes back with all gold everything:

-gold beads for everyone

-gold “glass” for me

-cupcakes in gold wrapper with a gold rolo on top

– and a bottle of GOLDSCHLAGER

-and a lovely “happy birthday” beautifully sang to me.

IMG_1048

It. Was. Awesome.

image_2

Then we all took (too many) swigs of GOLD,

and decided to try out my new yoga mat by doing partner poses….. (I love that A Christmas Story is on the TV in the 1st one!!)

image_1IMG_1050Ridiculously awesome.

The next morning Michael and I made our way to my parent’s house for Christmas morning (and my actual birthday!).  I made everyone 2 different types of frittatas:

IMG_1060Broccoli/bacon/swiss and mushroom/cherry tomato/goat cheese.  Everyone voted the latter as the winner!

My mom made stuffed jalapenos and cinnamon rolls:

IMG_1061

Plus fresh fruit.  My bro has the perfect bite!

IMG_1064

Then we opened gifts and enjoyed each other’s company.  One special gift was a gold sweater with gold earrings to wear for the day from my madre  🙂 🙂 Soon we were getting ready to head to all of our relative’s houses for more celebrating.  We had three more stops to make the rest of the day.

The great thing about having your birthday on Christmas is that you get to hear the birthday song at least 4-5 separate times throughout the day………..haha- just kidding!

Growing up, it was awful, I’ll admit.  I remember one Christmas at my Grandma’s the children had just finished opening gifts and the adults then got my cake ready with the candles lit to sing to me.  Except none of the other children came from downstairs to sing because they were all too busy playing with their new toys.  It was traumatizing! I’m still talking about it, no?!

Now, however, I am growing to really appreciate it- I’m always guaranteed to spend it with my entire family –  Always!  I feel lucky because not everyone gets to.  And I guess I’m getting used to being sang to throughout the entire day. Almost.

IMG_0529

It was a very special golden birthday.  So thankful for everything my fantastic family did to make it extra special and for another year of life!

xoxo,

Alisha

20 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/08/2013 9:44 pm

    just gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous! happy golden birthday!!

  2. Emily Leibold permalink
    01/08/2013 9:46 pm

    I love this post! Perfect timing too because this evening I watched an episode of the show Happy Endings (hilarious show btw if you don’t watch it) but the whole episode was about the fact that one of the characters was born on Christmas and how she was traumatized as a child 🙂 I’m glad you had a great day, those frittatas look amazing!

    • 01/09/2013 8:52 am

      bahahaha! Perfect timing! I’m so glad you commented! I had fun with you over break!

  3. 01/08/2013 10:05 pm

    It looks like you celebrated your Birthday and Christmas with lots of good food and good fun!!! Can you believe I didn’t even know what a Golden Birthday was until a couple months ago?!

    • 01/09/2013 8:53 am

      That’s hard to believe! Growing up we used to think that your golden birthday was going to be the BEST day of your life! hahah!

  4. Angela @ Health's Angel permalink
    01/09/2013 9:01 am

    So fun and I’m loving all the gold! My 25th birthday will be my golden one, too 🙂 still a couple years away! When I was growing up we had two kids on my street who were both born on Christmas day. Crazy!
    And those frittatas? Wow. I wish I had that for breakfast instead of my oatmeal. 😉

    • 01/09/2013 8:39 pm

      How fun! What month?! I’m so glad that there are others with Christmas birthdays!

      • Angela @ Health's Angel permalink
        01/10/2013 8:19 am

        July 25 🙂 a.k.a. “Christmas in July” haha!

      • 01/10/2013 12:26 pm

        Christmas in July! ha! I love it!

  5. 01/09/2013 11:41 am

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY 🙂
    Chipolte mashed sweet potatoes & Stuffed mushrooms? Yeah I need to come over haha

  6. 01/09/2013 11:47 am

    Bahaha please tell me the title is an Austin Powers Gold Member reference! That’s right where my mind went…

    What a sweet golden surprise! Mine was this year too, 24 on the 24th 🙂 Sounds like a fun Christmas & birthday all around!

  7. 01/09/2013 1:09 pm

    Happy belated GOLDEN birthday!!! Mine was when I was 15, and I didn’t even realize it haha. You guys always look like a blast, I love the partner yoga poses haha. Goldschlagger makes me want to puke. I just can’t do it anymore haha.

    • 01/09/2013 8:36 pm

      Thanks! Partner yoga poses were hilarious. And I agree on the gold- it was practically forced down my throat that night!

  8. 01/09/2013 4:54 pm

    Happy WAY belated Birthday love! How cool your birthday is on christmas, you have the best birthday ever!

    You looked so beautiful! Glad you had a great christmas and birthday girl! ❤

  9. 01/09/2013 9:56 pm

    Looks like a fantastic birthday!! Happy belated 25th!!
    Love the yoga pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

