Skip to content

Lightened Up Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

01/06/2013

Hi friends!

So last night’s Packers/Vikings game.

IMG_1183I was in the purple and yellow spirit en route to our friend’s home.  But we all know how the game ended (if not, the Vikes were dominated by the Packs).

Luckily, the Wisconsin-themed food was enough to (kind-of) make up for my broken heart.

A tray of different meat/cheeses/olives,

IMG_1192

beer brats and cheese soup served by the host

IMG_1197

IMG_1198

and my contribution of bacon wrapped jalapenos (with my husband’s hand trying to sneak one as I snapped the pic!),

IMG_1196

Now, I know the theme was supposed to be Wisconsin….but I figured that these had both cheese + meat, so it counts! Right?…Right!

I was able to cut HALF the fat and calories and everyone gobbled them right up.  Not a jalapeno left in the house!

Lightened Up Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

(serves 6-8 as an appetizer)

24 fresh jalapenos, sliced in half and seeded (leave seeds if you feeling feisty)

8 oz Greek Yogurt Cream Cheese

4 Scallions, sliced

1 tsp Garlic Powder

24 Pieces of Turkey Bacon

Honey to taste

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
  2. Prep jalapenos.  Wear gloves to protect your fingers against the heat!
  3. Mix together the cream cheese, scallions and garlic power.IMG_1185
  4. Stuff jalapenos with cheese.IMG_1186
  5. Cut turkey bacon in half.  Wrap each piece around the stuffed jalapeno
  6. Drizzle lightly with honey.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for about 30 minutes. Wait 5 minutes to cool (if you can stand it!)

IMG_1193As you can see, some people couldn’t stand to wait the five minutes! 🙂  But seriously, I just chopped half of the fat and calories in half- KAPOW!  While this is by no means “healthy”, it’s still made me feel better that I could cut some calories.

Andddd that’s why I woke up and immediately juiced this morning:

IMG_1205Broccoli and collard green stalks (never throw them away- always juice them!!), grapefruit and an apple.

I didn’t get sick the entire year of 2012. Crazy right!? But I woke up this morning with that sort of “omg am I getting sick?” feeling and then thought, “I’ll be damned if I get sick the first month of 2013!”.  Juicing has magic powers.

IMG_1206

I was nice and shared with Michael 🙂

After a day of lounging, cleaning and a trip to the gym to do:

10 mins stairmaster 

10 mins elliptical (HIIT style, 15 secs on 15 secs off)

20 mins on treadmill (jog for 10, hills for 10)

10 minute abs 

We are settling down to watch the premiere of Biggest Loser.  I’ve never watched an entire season before, but we decided we’re going to tune in for this one!  Maybe all of their advertising has reeled us in?

Have a great night ❤

Alisha

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/07/2013 1:19 am

    I’ve only ever watched season finales of Biggest Loser…it’s always the best one to watch since you get to see the before and after!!

    Your jalapeno poppers look AWESOME! I’m always looking for ways to fool my BF into eating healthy food…I need to find that Greek yogurt cream cheese and see if I can trick him! I swear I’m a nice girlfriend, haha…

    • 01/07/2013 9:26 am

      hahaha! He won’t even notice the difference, I promise! 🙂 And I’m thinking you might be onto something about only watching the finales….before/after is all that anyone wants to see anyway right?!

  2. 01/07/2013 9:35 am

    Your juice looks really good and totally makes me want some now. Especially after a weekend of not eating or drinking very health-fully. Happy Monday!

    • 01/07/2013 10:09 am

      Juicing after a weekend of indulgence is the best! Happy Monday to you, too!

  3. Angela @ Health's Angel permalink
    01/07/2013 10:40 am

    My uncle gave my parents a juicer years ago…I believe for Christmas. I don’t think they ever use it. I need to guilt them into just handing it down to me 😉 I think i’d put it to better use!
    Your contribution to the party food looks delicious!

    • 01/07/2013 10:54 am

      GO get that juicer, girl! I’m sure your rents won’t miss it :)!

  4. 01/07/2013 10:58 am

    Sorry your team lost, but I’m glad the food was delicious and that you had fun! And looked SUPER cute too!

  5. 01/07/2013 12:47 pm

    I watched BL too!! I am obsessed with the show, and was waiting ALL year for it to start!! I got hooked last January watching an old season on Hulu start to finish! I love that you keep the stalk and juice them, I actually eat them because I don’t have a juicer and refuse to throw them out!

    • 01/08/2013 1:57 pm

      I’m soo glad other bloggers watch BL! And I love that you eat the stalks! Do you throw them in salads?!

  6. 01/08/2013 12:14 pm

    Genius! I’ve been throwing away my stalks. What have I been thinking? That is a fantastic idea. Aaaanndd I’m excited to drink my stalks. Clearly there’s something wrong with me.

  7. 01/08/2013 12:18 pm

    Such a delicious looking appetizer! I will definitely have to give this one a try at my next get-together. I’m always looking for a more exciting healthy snack option besides fruit and crudités.

  8. 01/08/2013 5:35 pm

    Love your blog:) And nothing beats fresh juice!

    • 01/08/2013 8:24 pm

      Thank you! And I totally agree- nothingggg beats fresh juice!

Leave a Reply

