Skip to content

Fave Five Friday

12/14/2012

Did you hear?

High five friday is now fave five friday! 🙂 FFF? haha- not that!  BUT I have five of my favorite things for this week that I would like to share with ya.  High fives all around are still encouraged on this glorious friday. 😉

1.  History Channel’s Mankind: The Story of Us.  This series is ballerrrr.  It’s a six episode special that has been on the History channel and it’s safe to say that Michael and I are obsessed.  Tell me we’re not the only ones watching this?!

2. Pomegranates.  They’re in season and I’m taking full advantage of them this year.  Perfectly sweet and they just pop in your mouth.  Plus with their super high levels of antioxidants they are a superfood….  need I say more?

3.  Indian spices.  Ohhhhh yes.  I can’t get enough indian spice in my life.  Last night I made aloo gobi (an indian cauliflower and potato dish) with indian-spiced grapefruit chicken. It was one of those meals where you just sit back after devouring eating and smile with satisfaction.

photo-42

4.  Katie @ Blonde Ambition ……because she nominated me for an award! 🙂 Katie and I are quickly realizing that we have a lot of the same tastes in food and just life in general.  Spicy curried soup anyone?  Thanks for the nomination, friend!

bblogger1

Beautiful Blogger Award Rules:

The idea behind the Beautiful Blogger Award is to recognize some of the bloggers we follow for their hard work and inspiration.

1. Copy the Beautiful Blogger Award logo and place it in your post.
2. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
3. Tell 7 things about yourself.
4. Nominate 7 other bloggers for their own Beautiful Blogger Award, and comment on their blogs to let them know.

Okay, 7 things about me….here we go:

1. I was born in Plano, Texas but moved to Iowa when I was 3 years old, and stayed there until I graduated from college at the University of Iowa.  Go hawks!

2. My mom is a hair stylist (the best one I know, imo!).  Because I was fearless and my mom could color my hair at the drop of a hat, my hair has been every color possible throughout high school.  Blonde, black, red, reddish-brown, dirty blonde, black and blonde…..you get the point.  Currently my hair is pretty close to my original color, but only because I live so far away from home that it’s impossible to keep up.  And I refuse to let anyone but my momma touch my hair!  That would be sinful. 

3.  I have never been stung by a bee!  And I intend to keep it that way as looong as possible haha 🙂

4. I was super active in high school (track, dance, volleyball, drama), so much so that when I went to college I was so burnt out that I limited all of my activities to studying and partying.  Then the *cough 30 pounds* cough followed.  The saying, “ignorance is bliss” pretty much sums up my feelings about the short-lived weight gain.  It took me a year or so to realize that a ton of pizza and a lot more beer will cause you to gain weight.  And not working out.  But I was still happy?!  It was definitely alcohol induced 😉 tehehe

5. I used to be a gymnast.  I was active from age 5- 11 or 12 ish when my coach at the time wasn’t able to continue coaching me and a handful of other girls at the high level we had made it to. I attribute my gymnast and dancer background to loving yoga to much.  And that it comes pretty easy to me .

6. I am addicted to coffee.  No, really.  I am.  I worked at Starbucks for 2.5 years in college and loved it!  I also loved the endless free drinks I could get ANYTIME I wanted.  Even Michael could get a many free drinks as he wanted.  It. Was. Awesome.  Now a day without coffee is a very grumpy and headache induced one!

7. I never had a pet growing up but have developed an incredible urge to get a puppy.  Michael doesn’t necessarily want one so I’m currently “working” on him.  We’ll see who wins this battle.  And I’ll bet you can guess who usually wins 😉  muahaha. 

And my nominees (drumroll, please):

– Brittany at Blissful Brit.  This woman is hilarious and I just love her style.  You can always count on a laugh when reading her posts.

-Alex @ Brain, Body, Because.  Alex’s blog is so entertaining, I love reading it.   Her love for the arts and doggies suck me right in!

-Angela @ Health’s Angel .  Angela is such a sweetheart and we share a love for yoga 🙂

-Allison @ Life’s A Bowl.  She puts a lot of thought and effort into her posts and it really shines through.  Love reading her blog!

Becky @ Olives ‘n’  Wine.  I love that she lives in Minnesota.  I lived in MN for two years so it’s really fun to read about the fun things she does (and I can re-live my experiences through her! haha).

Kayla @ Fire Breathing Kayla.   When Kayla first started blogging last spring I was obsessed!  She took a short break and has just started up again.  I hope she continues because I love reading her hilarious posts.  Her humor is awesome.

Can I nominate the person who nominated me?  Because I’m going to.  Katie @ Blonde Ambition just neeeeeds to be on my list!  She is super cool and I love her recipes and writing style.  Sorry not sorry if I just broke a rule?

5.  That Michael has today off an we are en route to Pittsburgh for the weekend!  Primanti Brothers, I’m coming for youuuuuu!  🙂  Have a fabulous weekend, friends!

xoxo

Alisha

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/14/2012 1:43 pm

    YUMM pomegranates!! Did you know that if you scrape the seeds out in water it makes life so much easier!? They seeds just float to the top and the rest sinks. You may already know this, but it was life changing for me! Congrats on the award and THANK you for passing it on!! You are too kind!

    • 12/18/2012 8:21 pm

      I DID NOT KNOW THIS! Genius! I think this will be life changing!

  2. 12/14/2012 7:39 pm

    Yayyy thanks!!

    I’m going to tell my boyfriend to DVR The Story of Us! He likes informative shows and he’s looking for work like you so he has lots of time to kill watching tv during the day 🙂

    TOTALLY relate to #4. I gained a tonnn of weight in college, but I was totally happy and thought I looked great, haha! I’ve lost almost 20 lbs since I graduated, solely due to eating better and binge drinking less 😛

    • 12/18/2012 8:25 pm

      hahahah yes! Tell him he wont be the only unemployed person watching the series at home alone during the day 😉 and i love that you can relate to the college pounds! I lost mine pretty much the exact same way 🙂 We have so much in common and i love it.

  3. 12/18/2012 8:45 am

    Thank you for the nomination, Alisha! I can’t wait to write this up!

  4. Angela @ Health's Angel permalink
    12/19/2012 9:53 am

    Thanks for the nomination, Alisha! 🙂 I’ll definitely be doing this soon. I need to get my posting-act together…ha!

    Hope you had a great time in the ‘Burgh!

    • 01/02/2013 9:37 pm

      I had a blast in the burgh! Finally going to post about it tomorrow! Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

