Skip to content

What I Ate Wednesday

12/12/2012

Happy Wednesday, friends!

It’s that time of the week where I share my food from the day……my favorite! (Buddy the Elf voice).  Thanks to Jenn for hosting the partayy! It’s my first time officially joining…. better late than never? 😉

wiaw what i ate wednesday button happy healthy holidays-1

Breakfast was a current classic of mine- quinoa lemon blueberry pancakes and 1/2 grapefruit.  Of course there is coffee!

IMG_0862

Lunch was pretty light because I had plans to hit the gym almost immediately afterwards. I made a quesadilla with white bean hummus and wild blueberry and vanilla goat cheese and ate it over a bed of greens.

IMG_0865

After an easy cardio session at the gym (15 min ET, 15 min StairMaster, 15 min hills on treadmill), I replenished myself with a salad that a fellow blogger at Blonde Ambition posted a recipe on, autumn grain salad.

I made mine with quinoa and barley.  I didn’t add the onions (sinful!) because I was starvinggg and could’t bear to wait for the onions to caramelize.  I did add some goat cheese, though! Great recipe, Katie!

IMG_0867The chewy barley balanced sooo well with the “poppy” pomegranate seeds!  It had every so many different textures and made it fun to eat 😉

A couple hours later I got hungry….so I made a bowl of sweet and savory oats.  Sweet because I used wild blueberry and vanilla goat cheese (which I’ve been eating obsessively!) and topped the egg with some sriracha after this picture (that is really dark and sad…sorry!)

IMG_0871

Some other meals that I’ve eaten this past week:

IMG_0844

Swordfish and veggies at a local hibachi grill.  Michael and I split the meal.  We’ve agreed to never get our own meal at a hibachi restaurant again because we were both perfectly full after splitting this!  Seriously it was perfect.

IMG_0860I made this meal on a hail mary using whatever we had in our kitchen at the time.  It ended up being some sort of taco?  White bean spread on corn tortilla and topped with savory collard greens/onions with goat cheese.  We liked it!

IMG_0812THIS! needs to be in my regular rotation.  Curried carrot soup!  Delicious!  I made a big batch of it but we accidentally ate all of it in one night.  Oooops.  I made it extra spicy (shocked?) and topped it with a dollop of yogurt.  And bread on the side…obvs.

IMG_0853Chicken lo mein. Pretty good.  Kind of plain- but eating it with chopsticks makes it all better.  Chopsticks just take a meal to the next level…I think 😉

We are going to be visiting Pittsburgh this weekend so I am going to make some snacks tomorrow for our car ride and for the random times that I suddenly feel like I’m dying of starvation haha.

I’m really excited to see some old friends while we’re there- but I’m beyond, BEYOND pumped to go to the Primanti Brothers restaurant.  I feel like I’ve been dreaming of visiting the restaurant for years and never thought this time would come.  So excited to dive right into that big, obnoxious coleslaw-infused sandwich.  What?  I know you have seen it featured on the Travel Channel before! Just me?

news_natgeo

Source

For my Pittsburgh readers….any suggestions for other must go to restaurants?  Any breakfast and dinner joints?  I know we’ll be in the downtown area. Thanks in advance!

xoxo

Alisha

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Big Poppa permalink
    12/12/2012 11:06 pm

    Your Wednesday meals made my mouth water. The only thing better would be fresh crappie from the mississippi!

  2. Angela @ Health's Angel permalink
    12/13/2012 8:34 am

    You’re coming to my neck of the woods! 🙂 If you want another well-known spot, check out Pamela’s Diner for breakfast. There’s one in the Strip District which is close to downtown. President Obama ate there when he visited once! They have killer pancakes, but the wait is normally long, especially on a weekend. The Strip is a cool place, though!

    Also…check out Market Square while you’re downtown. They’ve really revamped it and there are a lot of neat restaurants now, I hear.

    • 12/13/2012 10:16 am

      You live in Pitt, that’s right! Awesome! We’ll definitely have to check out Pamela’s Diner one morning we’re there. Thanks for the tips!! The friends we’re meeting there aren’t from Pitt either, so neither of us know much about the area 😉

      • Angela @ Health's Angel permalink
        12/13/2012 10:41 am

        Not a problem! Let me know if you need any other suggestions. 🙂

      • 01/04/2013 6:50 pm

        🙂

  3. 12/13/2012 12:19 pm

    That sandwich looks amaaaazing, as does the quesadilla! I love the flavor combo!!.

  4. 12/13/2012 12:42 pm

    Yaayyy glad you liked the recipe! Looks yummy! I agree, I think all the different textures was my favorite part too!

    That carrot soup looks delish, and we are totally on the wavelength – I made curried cauliflower soup last night! Hot spicy soup is so perfect for cold winter nights!

  5. 12/18/2012 8:45 am

    Oh, no! I wish that I had seen this post before! I live in Pittsburgh and there is so much delicious food here.

    I saw on Twitter that you checked out Fat Heads – great call! Their draft selection is insane. I hope you had a nice trip!

    • 12/18/2012 8:25 pm

      We ate sooo mch great food! Fat Heads was a great choice 🙂 Southside was crazy!

  6. 12/18/2012 4:46 pm

    Are you suuuuuuure that was your first wiaw? haha you’re a pro already =) Welcome to the party Alisha! Hope you had fun!

Leave a Reply

