Skip to content

1st Annual Friendsgiving

11/24/2012

Michael and I hosted friendsgiving this year.  We were THIS excited and got up at the crack of dawn (7:30) and went to the gym for a little over an hour.  I think this is the first time I’ve actually had time (made time?) to get a workout in on Thanksgiving!  Usually when we’re back home in Iowa there is never any time between the 4 different homes that we make it to. Anyways!

We set our tables.

The burlap we used was actually what we had in our wedding reception for decor.  I love that we were able to re-use it.

And we were able to use our new china! First year of the tradition of using our china for every holiday has officially begun. Chaaa!

I captured the glorious moment the turkey came out of the oven.

I finished cooking the mashed potatoes and green bean side dish with a lovely ginger martini in hand 😉

Ummm do you SEE that ham in the background?! 20 pounds of HAM.  We were all joking about how much we would have liked to see that pig if just one part of its body is that big.  I hardly ever eat ham, but this was pretty delicious!

My sweet potato rolls, mashed potatoes, turkey and gravy.

Green bean german salad and cranberry goat cheese stuffed mushers.

Plus that HAM.  That I forgot to snap a pic of.

My generous plate.

Michael and I shared of piece of the pecan pie with homemade ice cream that our guests brought to the party.  T’was amaze balls.

Since it was an unusually warm Thanksgiving day (I’m pretty sure this is the first and only thanksgiving day that was ever that warm), we were able to have a bonfire in our backyard after dinner.

With a cooler of beer and a thousand games of catch phrase, we spent the rest of our night by the fire.  Can I just say that catch phrase is the BEST game to play at a bonfire?!  It can’t be beat.

Hope your thanksgiving was filled with good food and company 🙂

Since each couple went home with about 3 containers FULL of ham, we’ve decided to get together today to watch football, have some drinks, and eat the ham in a reconstructed form.  We’re each bringing a dish using the ham-HAM OVERLOAD….bahaha.  It’s going to be hammin’ good time!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/24/2012 8:38 pm

    YAY what a fun time!! I especially love the games by the fire, I need to get down on some games soon!

  2. 11/26/2012 4:17 am

    Hey, just found your blog 😀
    SO much great food! Looks like a good time!

  3. Ashley Blosch permalink
    11/26/2012 11:35 am

    Gahhhh looks delish! Nice work Lish!

  4. 11/27/2012 9:41 am

    This looks like such a fun evening!

    I know the pecan pie was good because you didn’t stop to take a photo 😀

Leave a Reply

