Skip to content

My Thanksgiving Menu

11/20/2012

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE reading other people’s holiday menus.  Actually, I love reading any and all menus……. I wish I were kidding.

This year for Thanksgiving Michael and I sadly aren’t going to make it home to Iowa and be with our families.  But we aren’t going to let it stop us from indulging in the biggest meal of the year.  Hence……FRIENDSGIVING will occur with some of our friends who are in the same boat as us this year.

We offered to host the gathering of stuffing our faces and being thankful for it ;).  I’m starting to fall in love with entertaining- the combo of entertaining with a foodie’s most beloved holiday of the year?! MAGIC.

What I’m bringing to the table (pun intended):

Appetizer: variety of cheese and olives

Sides: Traditional Mashed Potatoes and Gravy (made with the turkey drippings)

Sweet Potato Rolls/Crossiants

Stuffed Mushrooms with Cranberry and Cinnamon Goat Cheese

Green Bean German Salad

Dessert: Pumpkin Hazelnut Pie

One couple is brining the turkey and homemade ice cream (!!) which I think will be awesome with the pumpkin hazelnut pie, no? And another couple is bringing a 20 lb (!!!) ham- using a top secret family recipe that I am THIS excited to try.  Plus more sides.

Who’s hungry?!

If you want a good laugh today do yourself a favor and look through this slideshow of Thanksgiving fails.  I particularly liked when my hands were covering my face in shame and embarrassment for that girl singing the Thanksgiving song.  And then I laughed.

 

What are you making this year for Thanksgiving?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/21/2012 2:10 pm

    Your Thanksgiving plans sound amazing!! I look forward to the day where I spend it with my friends around me when I am in adult world! HA! I am going to be eating a lotttt of bread, potatoes, vegetables, and cranberries! OH AND PIE!

Leave a Reply

