Skip to content

Confessions of a Sriracha Addict

11/19/2012

My name is Alisha,

And I am addicted to Sriracha.

It started in college at the University of Iowa when I was introduced to it by my roommate.

We started it slow with the occasional dinner.   Eventually we were spending every meal together.

We were inseparable.

Not long after, I began to get horrendous stomach aches after each meal.

My roommate tried telling me that it was because of the ungodly amounts of sriracha that I was engaging in.  But I wasn’t having  it. Noooooo sirreeee.  How dare you think that’s the reason!?!

So, I went to the doctor to see why my heart was really hurting.

They prescribed me heart-burn meds.

I then decided to conduct an experiment and stop indulging in Sriracha for a couple of months and see if it went away on it’s own (because I haaaaaate taking meds and want to avoid them at all costs)………………..

It went away.  (insert sad face).

We haven’t seen each other in a few years.

When I went back to Iowa a few weeks ago, I spotted it in my parent’s fridge.   My heart fluttered its little wings as fast as she could and screamed IT’S LOVE, IT’S LOVE!

Ever since, we’ve been on the fast path to destruction.  We’re together at nearly every meal and I’m starting to get concerned.

I told myself that after this (extra large) bottle of sriracha is gone, that we cannot be together again for at least 2 months.  We’ve decided to have an on-again off-again relationship.

I can’t help that being together creates a burning urge of happiness and joy within me! The PROOF is here!- spicy foods increase serotonin levels in your brain and releases endorphins (plus much, much more).  So…..you’re telling me that it’s an addiction?  We just can’t stay apart from each other.  It’s like we’re magnetic!

P.S. I have no idea why I was voted the most dramatic in the family?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Alisa permalink
    11/19/2012 6:04 pm

    Hahaha! You are funny little one 🙂

  2. 11/19/2012 6:31 pm

    Hahaha I am in loveee with cayenne pepper. I put it on EVERYTTHHIIGGG! I’m not sure if it’s quite the same, but I hear you on the love affair.! I hope you can continue this on/off relationship forever!

    • 11/20/2012 9:50 am

      oooo cayenne pepper- that’s up there with sriracha! I hope we can make our relationship work!

  3. 11/19/2012 8:06 pm

    Girl, I feel your pain. You and I have the same weakness+problem. LOVE spicy foods, but I’ve had acid reflux for a long time and it’s been acting up this year 😦 so much that I’m on medication now. IT’S THE WORST. I want some sriracha! 😦

    • 11/20/2012 9:51 am

      ughhhh i totally agree with you! since i’ve started eating it again I haven’t had any problems….yet! maybe there is hope for you to try it again someday?!

      • 11/20/2012 12:06 pm

        I still indulge in spicy stuff often, and just suffer afterwards! I made the mistake of ordering spicy thai chicken soup at lunch with my roomie yesterday- so delicious, but I regretted it haha.

      • 11/20/2012 3:05 pm

        hahaha, WORTH IT!

  4. Kelli Baxter permalink
    11/19/2012 8:10 pm

    You are simply TOO funny, Alisha!!

    Thank you for making me giggle out loud … 😉 Kelli

  5. 11/21/2012 10:01 am

    I LOVE SRIRACHA.

    My favorite hole-in-the-wall Chinese restaurant dilutes theirs with water. Maybe that would help you?

Leave a Reply

