Skip to content

My Favorite Snack

11/16/2012

My favorite snack comes bearing oats,

Spiciness can be varied (But for me….bring on the heat!),

and includes one of my favorite superfoods.  An over-easy egg.

Hot sauce is optional.

Savory Oats

1/2 cup old-fashioned oats

1 cup milk (or water)

1 oz creamy cheese (goat or laughing cow)

1 egg

dash of s/p, dill paprika

hot sauce, jalapenos (optional)

Combine oats and milk (or water) and bring to a boil in a saucepan.  Once reaches boil, lower heat and add cheese.  Cook until your desired level of consistency is reached.  Meanwhile, cook an egg on the side with a dash of s/p.  Top cooked oats with the dashes of dill and paprika and top with egg and hot sauce.  Add jalapenos if you’re feeling frisky.  😉

Enjoy this deliciously creamy and spicy snack after a hard workout or for an afternoon snack.  Or if you need  to really wake up in the morning.

xoxo,

Alisha

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/16/2012 11:45 am

    What! You have just blown my mind. I need to make this for me and the hot sauce loving BF this weekend!

  2. 11/16/2012 12:48 pm

    I’m with you, BRING ON the heat!! The spicier the better! YUM!

  3. 11/16/2012 4:07 pm

    Savory oats!! I saw this on Healthy Tipping Point awhile ago and thought she was crazy. Yours looks so good, though!

    • 11/19/2012 5:20 pm

      I’ve seen savory oat recipes all over the blog world (except I haven’t seen healthy tipping points!)…this is just a combination of my favorite ideas I’ve gotten from everyone 😉

Leave a Reply

