Skip to content

Crispy Chickpea and Cheesy Broccoli Skillet

11/11/2012

Hello!  I hope you’ve all had a great weekend.

Mine was spent with good company and good food.  Always good food 😉

Thursday night I made white chili with a side of swiss and jalapeno grilled cheese.  Smothered with crushed red peppers.

Friday night we had a lot to celebrate (couple of interviews for me and closing a deal at work for Michael), so cocktails and nachos were in order!

Michael was charge of the cocktails.  He did a great job putting it together, which included: vodka, pineapple banana juice, strawberry kiwi juice (equal parts of each).  Shaken, not stirred.  And garnished with sliced banana and pineapple.

I made some jalapeno, pineapple and bbq chicken nachos.   Pineapple was obviously the theme of the night!

I combined a cup of shredded chicken with 1/2 cup BBQ sauce.  Topped the chips with chopped jalapeno, pineapple, bbq chicken.  I made my own cheese sauce (butter, flour, skim milk, cheddar) and baked it at 375 for about 20 minutes.  Then cilantro was spread on top.  Deeelishhhh.

Saturday morning we took a trip to the farmer’s market together.  Christmas decor was up!  I usually don’t like seeing x-mas decor before Thanksgiving, but seeing it made me very happy.

Our round-up of veggies included: sweet potatoes, acorn squash, broccoli, brussels sprouts and gala apples.  Sorry no picture this week!  We were in too big of a hurry to put everything away and watch the Iowa Hawkeyes get killlleeeddddd.

Today we were hit with a warm front of close to 70 degrees and decided to use it to go fishing.  We went to a friend’s nearby pond….the fish weren’t really biting, but it was still nice to spend the afternoon outside.  Probably the last time fishing of the year!  Unless you count ice fishing…..

 

Dinner tonight was an experiment that was ended up being totally successful!  I encourage you to try making this quick and easy meal this week.  You probably have all of the ingredients already on hand.

Crispy Chickpea and Cheesy Broccoli Skillet

1 can garbanzo beans, drained/rinsed/patted dry

2.5 T olive oil, divided

1 T chili powder

1 tsp Cumin

1/2 tsp coriander

2 heads of broccoli, chopped

1 onion, sliced

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried thyme

crushed red pepper to taste

1/2 cup shredded colby jack cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Combine dried chickpeas with 1.5 T olive oil, chili powder, cumin, coriander, salt/pepper and cook for 30 minutes.  Chickpeas will be crunchy when done.  Meanwhile, heat 1 T olive oil in a large pan.  Cook the sliced onions until translucent and then add the broccoli along with the basil, thyme, crushed red, and salt/pepper.

Cook until broccoli is bright green (will still be somewhat crunchy).  When cooked, add the chickpeas directly to the skillet and stir to combine.  Top with cheese and let melt.  Serve over a bed of brown rice or quinoa and a swirl of sriracha….if desired 😉

This was the perfect mix of crunchy and chewy.  Roasting chickpeas is seriously genius!  Super quick, SUPER easy and downright delicious.  Also- thyme and broccoli go together like salt and pepper, in my opinion 😉

I’m feeling snacky tonight and am really craving the pumpkin-apple streusel muffins that I made a couple weeks back.  I think that this needs to happen…..I’m off to the kitchen. 🙂  See you next time!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/11/2012 10:47 pm

    I’ve been meaning to try roasted chickpeas for the looongest time. And I love anything with melted cheese on the top… This totally sounds like something I’d make for a light dinner!

    • 11/11/2012 10:51 pm

      I’m not sure why I waited so long to try them….they are amazing!

  2. 11/12/2012 10:00 am

    I love everything about this post! The amazing food, the great weather, – oh, and more amazing food!

    I’ll keep my fingers and toes crossed for your interviews! I bet they went wonderfully. And congratulations to Michael 🙂

  3. 11/12/2012 3:42 pm

    Good food, good drinks, good company..can’t beat that!

Leave a Reply

