Skip to content

On The Road Again

11/08/2012

Let’s face it.  It’s not the easiest thing in the world to eat healthy while on the road.

Luckily, there are coolers to the rescue. 🙂

Here’s what I packed (with whatever I could find in my parent’s fridge) for our 3 day trip.

bars (luna, fiberone and nature valley), crackers/cheese/sausage (that my brother insisted on bringing……not healthy AT ALL, but hey), spinach, carrots, grape tomatoes, laughing cow swiss cheese, hummus, ww tortillas, deli meat, wheat thins, pita chips, apples, hard-boiled eggs, and light mayo, siracha and spicy mustard.

I forgot to take a picture of my wrap that I made with the above ingredients, but it included: 1 wrap with 1 laughing cow cheese spread on half, hummus spread on the other half, spinach, grape tomatoes, and lots of siracha.  Plus carrots and pita chips with hummus on the side.  And the lemon luna bar with my mint tea— amazing combo by the way!

Tip-always plan ahead for your meals while on the road (the best you can) before you leave.  This makes it easier for you to pack your own meals, which is usually 1000x healthier than eating out.

Try not to pack anything in the cooler that isn’t healthy….. Because you will eat it.  Even if you think you won’t.  Kind of like storing your own pantry.  For me, I can’t keep chips in the house.  I will eat them.  There is zero will-power when it comes to me and chips. So I do not ever have them on hand. Like, ever! 😉

We went to Red Robin (a hamburger restaurant) for dinner one night and I ordered the fiesta salad (with no cheese, tortilla chips or the salsa-ranch dressing).  I asked for plainnnn salsa for my dressing.  But I kept the fried jalapenos.  Because…come on. Oh, and a Blue Moon beer.  It’s vaca, right? 😉

Please excuse the horrible lighting of this picture. Also- I ordered a salad because I knew that we were eating pizza the following night.  And who really wants to burn off calories from a burger/fries/pizza within 24 hours?  Not I.  Not I. It’s all about balance when eating healthy. 

Before we left to head back home, we fueled ourselves with breakfast. I ordered a veggie egg-white omelette with no cheese and added jalapenos.  I asked for salsa on the side and whole wheat toast (I gave half the toast to my dad). I don’t have a problem eating egg yolks, however, earlier than morning I had a hard-boiled egg in the hotel room.  So I didn’t want to many yolkies with the omelette.

A litte tippie tip- when on the road, try and cut calories whenever possible (because they add up big time!) For example, no cheese, anything fried, egg yolks, etc.  Don’t totally deprive yourself, believe me I didn’t when the (not pictured) pizza arrived one night.   For me, it was salad one night and pizza the next. Balance is KEY.

T’was another great weekend of basketball games and fam time.

All great things come to an end and the time had finally arrived for me to head back to Ohio to my husband.  I packed myself some snacks for the solo 10 hour drive because I knew I a) didn’t want to spend $ on food and b) didn’t want my only option of food to be a McDonald’s fry.

So I packed-

Chocolate covered almonds, nature valley bar, nuts/dried fruit mix, apple, a wrap with spinach/black bean burger from my mom’s freezer/goat cheese/mustard, 3 hard boiled eggs, a banana and almond butter sandwich with cinnamon.

I probably ate half of the packed things throughout my trip.

Before I left I tried to eat an overnight oats in a jar (oats, almond milk, chia seeds, 1 smashed banana, frozen fruit, cinnamon, vanilla, salt and the leftover almond butter)

I was so, so, sooooo sad to leave that I only ended up eating half.  You KNOW something is wrong when I can’t eat.  That rarely, if ever, happens.

After my long (but surprisingly not terrible) drive, I arrived back to my hubby in Ohio.  I was greeted with dinner and flowers. WW fettuccine alfredo with grilled chicken and garlic bread.  I think it’s too cute with Michael makes a meal for us.  He puts the love in his the food he makes, too.

Having a second car has improved our lives tenfold already. Even though I’m still super sad to be back (unemployment + adjusting to a new area with no family and friends at the same time is not a fun combination), I really missed my hubber and am glad to be with him again.

For my fellow unemployed persons,

xoxo

Alisha

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/09/2012 12:58 pm

    You did a really great job packing healthfully! I love how you took Sriracha 😀

  2. 11/09/2012 5:48 pm

    I love that you posted this because I am leaving on vacation tomorrow morning! The only food I’ve prepped right now for the 6 hour flight is homemade granola. I think I’ll probably pick up some fruit to bring with us as well!

    Thanks for the tips 🙂

    • 11/11/2012 9:42 pm

      I think apples are the best fruit to travel with 🙂 Hope you’re having a wonderful vacation!

  3. Ashley Blosch permalink
    11/11/2012 10:45 pm

    I love the vest! and all the “tippy tips” of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

