Skip to content

Savory Butternut Squash Stuffed Mini Peppers with Lemon-Thyme Goat Cheese

11/02/2012

Squash is hands down my favorite produce of the fall season.  They’re inexpensive, full of vitamins, and down-right delicious.  I’m constantly looking for new recipes to use my beloved squash- butternut, spaghetti or acorn.  I’ll take them all!

I knew I wanted to make a dish with butternut squash for the family (and my best friend who came over to dine with us), and wanted to use up the other produce that was already in the fridge.  So this is what came together…

Savory Butternut Squash Stuffed Mini Peppers with Lemon-Thyme Goat Cheese

1/2 Large Butternut Squash, peeled & chopped (about 2-3 cups total)

1 Large Onion, chopped

1 Jalapeno, chopped (optional)

1 Cup Chicken/Vegetable Broth

1 Cup cooked, ground turkey sausage

1/2 pound of Sweet Mini Peppers, Sliced in Half and Seeds Removed (could also use regular peppers)

2 oz Goat Cheese

3 TB Olive Oil (maybe more)

Few Sprigs of Fresh Thyme (or couple teaspoons of dried)

1/2 Lemon

Handful of Whole Wheat Bread Crumbs

S & P

Preheat oven to 400.

Saute chopped onion and squash (and jalapeno if using) in a TB of olive oil until onion is translucent.  Add chicken broth  and sausage and cover until cooked through and liquid is gone.  Season with salt and pepper.

Meanwhile, blanch peppers.  Toss them with a little olive oil, salt and pepper and place on a large cookie sheet.

Carefully scoop squash mixture into peppers (you might have some leftover squash mixture).  Cover with a little whole wheat bread crumbs.  Cook in preheated oven for 10-15 minutes or until crumbs are slightly browned.

Meanwhile, mix together goat cheese, 1/2 lemon juice, and thyme sprigs. Slowly incorporate olive oil until you reach your desired consistency (should be slightly runny).

Serve a scoop of the leftover squash mixture and then the peppers over a bed of quinoa (I seasoned mine with thyme and lemon juice).  Top with goat cheese. Feast!

The natural sweetness of the squash combined with the spicy pepper and savory goat cheese with thyme……out of this world!

This recipe does take a little bit of time…but if you cook over a glass of wine with good company surrounding you, it’s totally painless and actually a lot of fun.  The leftovers were great the next day with some siracha and spinach.  Loved this dish!

Give this recipe a go!  And if you’re cursing me while trying to peel and chop the butternut squash into pieces……I apologize 😉

Something to talk about:  Any fun weekend plans?

I’m heading to a weekend of basketball games with my fam.  Catch ya soon with what I packed in our cooler!

xoxo,

Alisha

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/02/2012 2:12 pm

    This looks so delicious. I am all about the squash too, so many delicious meal possibilities for so cheap! I love the sound of this goat cheese sauce!

  2. 11/02/2012 2:53 pm

    “And if you’re cursing me while trying to peel and chop the butternut squash into pieces……I apologize”

    How funny! As soon as I saw this recipe, I thought, “I wonder if she has any tips for cutting butternuts…”

    • 11/07/2012 11:05 am

      Good idea- maybe I will post how I am cut butternuts 🙂

Leave a Reply

