Skip to content

Jelly Legs

10/23/2012

Top of the mornin’ to ya!

Last night’s workout was a doozy.  I wanted to focus on legs and ended up doing a vintage workout from Fitnessista.  I finished it off with 20 minutes on the elliptical and 10 minutes on the stair master.  It was one of the those almost-fall-down-after-getting-off-the-stairmaster-legs-are-so-jelly workout.  My legs were on firreeeee the rest of the night.  And today…. in a good way, though. 😉

We came home and I made a batch of quinoa mac and cheese before the debate and the Bears/Lions game started.  I replaced the leeks with green onions and subbed the tomatoes for broccoli.  I also only used 1 cup of quinoa and threw in a cup of lean ground turkey for some extra protein (since Michael lifted last night and was craving some proteinnn).  The cheese I used was tomato and olive pepper jack.

+ Green onions and lots of shakes of crushed red pepper on top.  Aaaaand drowned it in hot sauce after this pic.  What can I say?  Some like it hot. haha.

Believe me, this was amazeballs.  I can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch over a bed of lettuce.  Totally and perfectly satisfying.  And you don’t feel bad for eating it because it’s quinoa(!) and not white, processed, zero-nutritional valued macaroni.  Plus, there’s broccoli in there.  #winning

This morning’s oatmeal was insaaaanely delicious.  Pumpkin oatmeal +chia seeds+toppings….

(almond milk, maple syrup, chopped walnuts, cinnamon-and is that a crumbled pumpkin ball I see on the top!?  I would never! 😉 )

The dark chocolate chips melted into the oatmeal and made it basically dessert for breakfast.  Oops 🙂 Plus a large mug of coffee.   I’m one who cannot function without coffee in the morning.  Even though I’m currently job-searching….For someone who used to work at Starbucks for almost three years in college- the coffee addiction might never go away.  And I’m okay with that.  Also- I take mine black.  No milk, sugar, nada.

The rest of the day will be spent cleaning, doing laundry, paying the bills (my favorite!…), and baking.  I’m hankering for some type of bar, ya know?  I’ll get back to you on what I decide to make.

Tonight is yoga class with my hubby.  I’m so proud of him- after months of trying to convince him to try it out (with the biggest selling point being that it will help his back pain he has ALL the time), he decided “what do I have to lose?” and went for it.  Tonight will be his third class!  I think we have another yoga addict in the making, folks 😉

And tonight is a new SONS OF ANARCHY episode! I’m going to be honest….I took me a while to come around to watching this show with Michael.  I judged all of the bikers, guns, killing and violence before giving it a chance.  Then a fellow girlfriend of mine told me it’s actually really good.  So this past summer (when Michael and I basically spent 2 entire months hanging out with friends and family back home….t’was glorious) I watched FOUR seasons of it.  I know….a lot of time……but hey.  No shame.  Because I’m addicted and it’s AWESOME.  If you’re still hesitant to watching know that: 1.do NOT start watching it now…you need to start from season one to know what’s going on, 2. if anything, the main character (Jax Teller) is very easy on the eyes and 3. it’s basically a soap opera for men– a really good one at that.

If none of that convinced you…..here ya go. Jax Teller.  You’re welcome.

Photo Credit: Sons of Anarchy/FX

Aaaand after that rant of SOA, I’m outtie.

Something to talk about: How do you take your coffee?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/23/2012 12:13 pm

    Quinoa Mac & Cheese sounds delicious!! And you sound like me & the BF…AKA hot sauce on EVERYTHING haha.

    I’m not big on yoga, but I’ve been trying to convince my not-very-active BF that he should do it…he has a herniated disc in his back so it’s one of the only safe ways he can exercise!

    • 10/23/2012 12:19 pm

      haha! yes! Hot sauce on everything is the way to go!
      Your BF should seriously consider trying yoga…it really will help his back. My hubby was verrryyy skeptical but even after the first class he said he could feel a difference in his back the next day. Try yogadownload.com for some free 20 minute videos for starters!

  2. 10/25/2012 10:10 am

    Over the summer, I finally got my DH to join me for a yoga class and he actually really liked it. Yay for bucking gender stereotypes 😀

Leave a Reply

