Skip to content

Weekend Highlights and Meals/Fitness for the Week

10/22/2012

Happy Monday, bloggies 😉

I hope you were able to get some R&R in this weekend.   I know we sure did.

Friday night was spent eating a quinoa and butternut squash stew/soup (no pic….sorry I forgot) and snugging in to watch the movie, Valkyrie.  I know we are behind by like 4 years in seeing this movie……and it was crazzzzayy intense!  As insane/out there/scary as Tom Cruise seems in his personal life….you can’t deny how great of an actor the man is.  He made me BELIEVE in the movie.  Have you seen Valkyrie?

Saturday morning (after sleeeeppinggg in) I dropped the hubby off at the gym and I (still super sore from Friday’s yoga) went to the local farmer’s market and grocery store to grab the goodies for the week.  We returned home and Michael put the groceries away while I grabbed my sneakers and phone and headed out for a walk.  I walked for close to an hour around the neighborhood while chatting away with my Nana (who resides in Texas).  I ❤ long talks with my Nana.

After showering, I set to work making some goodies before watching the Iowa Hawkeye football game. Remember the pumpkin ball recipe FoodNetwork tweeted?  Yeah.  They happened.

I used a cream cheese that was made with greek yogurt, added chocolate chips to the mix, and rolled it in unsweetened coconut.  The coconut flavor wasn’t really there, but the added texture was perfect!  These were awesome.  The perfect sweet pop in your mouth.  Try these and let me know what you think!

I also made a buffalo chicken dip…sans the chicken.  I didn’t have any chicken in my menu plan for the week and didn’t really want to purchase some just for this dip.  SO I made it without.  And added some jalapenos on top.  Served with carrots and celery.

As far as the game………

And that’s all I have to say about that. (Forrest Gump voice)

At least the pumpkin balls made up for it….sort of 😉

Sunday was spent with an HIIT and abs session at the gym, cleaning, lounging, and Sunday football ticket.  I’m in a predicament with tonight’s Bears/Lions game…I NEED Forte and Bears defense to do horribly so I can win in my fantasy league- but that would mean that Michael’s favorite team would lose.  Hmmmm, who to root for?! 😉

As far as meal plans for the week (I planned this out BEFORE I went grocery shopping on Saturday so that I could purchase only what I needed)

Sunday- Liberian Squash over quinoa- which turned out soooo good!  It had jalapenos, onions, b. squash, vegetable broth, and home-made turkey sausage. It was the perfect blend of spicy, sweet, creamy and pops (with the quinoa’s texture). 

Monday- Quinoa “mac and cheese” with roasted broccoli

Tuesday- Shepherd’s Pie

Wednesday-Autumn Tangine over brown rice

Thursday-Curry Chickpea Burgers and sweet potato fries

Friday- Pizzaaaaa

As far as fitness for the week….

Monday- Weights and 30 min. cardio

Tuesday- Yoga class

Wednesday- Trail run

Thursday – Weights and HIIT

Friday- Power yoga class

Saturday and Sunday- Off

Hope you are all off to a great start to the week.  I’m about to apply to a thousand more jobs before Michael gets home from work and we can hit the gym together.  My inspiration for continuing on the job hunt-

xoxo

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/22/2012 2:00 pm

    Butternut squash & quinoa stew, eh? I totally just bought a butternut squash this weekend and have been wondering what to do with it… sounds delish!

    • 10/23/2012 10:43 am

      Yes it was pretty good! I threw together some veggies, spices, broth and roasted b. squash and simmered together until quinoa was cooked. Let me know what you do with your b. squash!

      • 10/23/2012 12:11 pm

        I ended up making a soup! I roasted the squash with onions and a few garlic cloves until it was almost cooked through, then tossed it in a pot with broth, sage, & a parmesan rind and let it simmer for a while. Then I blitzed it and added cooked quinoa!

      • 10/23/2012 12:13 pm

        Niiiiiiceee! Sounds awesome!

  2. 10/25/2012 10:03 am

    I love how you plan your whole week in advance! That is how I like to be, too. I also like this:

    Friday- Pizzaaaaa

    😀

Leave a Reply

