Skip to content

Strawberry Banana Quinoa Pancakes

10/18/2012

When I started reading food and healthy living blogs about two years ago, I discovered Kath Eats Read Food and my relationship with oatmeal changed forever.  Call me dramatic, but I’m sooo serious.  I am a die-hard oatmeal lover.  Hot cooked oats, overnight oats soaked in greek yogurt, oatmeal breakfast cookie, and the list goes on and on.  In high school I would eat brown sugar Quaker Oats (prepackaged….) EVERY morning.  Remember those?  The more things change, the more they stay the same, eh?

But my love for oatmeal is for an entire other post.  Today-we are discussing pancakes.  I’ve never been a huge fan of pancakes (mostly because I would be hungry an hour later) and then I discovered THE oatmeal pancake (raw oats, eggs and baking powder).  I went through my phase of oatmeal pancakes, let me tell you.  Now I admit that I am in the phase of quinoa pancakes.  Oh yes, quinoa.

Strawberry Banana Quinoa Pancakes 

(adapted from Martha Stewart’s Quinoa Pancakes)

1 cup cooked quinoa

3/4 cup bread flour (all purpose would work)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 large egg

1/4 cup almond milk

1 small banana, mashed

1 TB brown sugar

1/4 cup strawberries, sliced

In a medium bowl, mix together the first 4 ingredients.  In a separate small bowl mix the following 4 ingredients.  Gently pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and lightly mix together.  Spray a pan with olive oil and place over medium-low to medium heat.  After scooping a few spoonfuls into pan, carefully place sliced strawberries into the pancake.  Let cook until bubbly and flip.  Cook for another 2-3 minutes on the other side.  Serve with maple syrup or other desired toppings.  (Almond butter would be delicious!) Makes 6-8 pancakes.

These babies are to die for!  I was mmmm-ing the entire time eating these.  The best part is that they keep me full for a solid 4-5 hours.  All of that quinoa (which is a complete protein, I might add), really provides a satisfying breakfast.  I’ve been eating blueberry/lemon quinoa pancakes like it’s my job the past couple of weeks.  I even served them to my in-laws when they came to visit.  Heck-I even converted my husband (an adamant pancake hater) into loving quinoa pancakes.  Minus the fruit.  For some strange, out of the world reason that I cannot understand, the man does not like cooked fruit.  I know…crazy!

This is the perfect breakfast to make on a leisurely Saturday or Sunday morning for the working folks.  Luckily for me, a full-time job searcher, nearly every morning I have time to make some pancakes.  Maybe that’s why I’ve been digging these pancakes so much lately?  Either way….try these.  And then tell me how awesome they were.  If you MUST have these satisfying, filling and delicious pancakes before you start a long day of work- be sure to have some cooked quinoa ready to go in your fridge.  Making this recipe will be a lot easier and quicker for you if you do. And then, your day will be awesome.  It’s a no-fail way to start your day.

Enjoy!

xoxo

Alisha

Do you like fruit in your pancakes? What is your favorite?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/18/2012 1:44 pm

    I never liked oatmeal much as a kid, but it’s all I’ve eaten for breakfast since graduating college two years ago! I would LOVE to try quinoa pancakes though.

    And I must say, I share your husband’s aversion to cooked fruit! I never liked pie or jams growing up…I’m getting better though 🙂

    • 10/18/2012 1:47 pm

      I graduated from college a little over 2 years ago as well, crazy! Let me know what you think of these pancakes- and if you decided to try it with the fruit! Maybe this will be the recipe that converts you, too 🙂

  2. 10/18/2012 8:33 pm

    I lovee fruit in my pancakes, I usually go with blueberries. I LOVE the quinoa addition in these!

Leave a Reply

