Skip to content

First Visitors (Family Is Everything)

10/17/2012

 This past weekend Michael and I were blessed with our first visitors since moving across the country a few months ago.

My in-laws 🙂

After an 11 hour drive (bless their souls) they arrived to our home Thursday night.  I was sure to have a hot meal waiting for them.

Kale enchiladas and saffron rice.  I used the rest of the saffron Michael brought back from Turkey- I really wanted to his parents to have a taste of the authentic spice.  I tend to have a higher tolerance for spice than most (shocking, I know), and may have made it a little spicier than I was planning on.  It was a little too spicy for my mother-in-law…..next time I’ll remember to tame it down 10x lower than I think “is not” spicy.  Note to self, haha.

Friday morning we were up and ready to visit the Football Hall of Fame.  Michael and his father are huge football fans (Chicago Bears, nevertheless) so the trip was highly anticipated.  We had a blast zipping through all of the football memorabilia.

We stopped at an Italian Pizzeria for lunch and I ordered an amazing salad.  I’m actually still thinking about how awesome it was.

It had greens, green apples, grilled chicken, tomatoes, walnuts, and goat cheese.  Served with balsamic on the side, which I didn’t use.  If the toppings are right, I generally don’t even use the dressing.  It’s delicious enough without it!

Saturday morning I snuck out of the house to attend my favorite power yoga class of the week.  I returned home and we hopped over to my favorite market of the area!  Michael’s parents loved it.  They said they now understand why it’s the highlight of my week when I go and that they would be doing the same thing.  We scored some pumpkins for 2 dollars each.  I’m pretty sure pumpkins of this size are going for about 5 or 6 dollars at grocery stores.  Scooooorrrrreeee!

 

We had a small get-together Saturday night of some of Michael’s co-workers.  His small company is really close and they like to play together outside of work, so we wanted to provide an opportunity for his parents to meet some of the great people he works with.  Our afternoon was spent with Michael and his dad worked on tuning-up our car while me and his mom got to work in the kitchen.

Ciabatta loaf, butterscotch and pumpkin spice popcorn, crackers, jalapeno and cheddar cheeses, beer brea, hummus, green “surprise” dip (that was quickly renamed “the best green dip ever” after the name scared people into trying it), and some pumpkin bars.  And buffalo deviled eggs (garnished with pickled jalapenos and cayenne pepper). Guests also brought delicious cheese and a lot of bottles of wine to contribute to the spread. Wine galore! hehe

We finished the night with a bonfire in the backyard and a fun game of catchphrase.  Love that game!  So glad we registered for it for the wedding.  It’s the perfect game to get everyone involved.

Sunday was spent relaxing and enjoying each other’s company.  After church in the morning, Michael and his dad went fishing for the afternoon while me and Nancy hung out at home and placed Sequence (another fun game we registered for!).  We had plans to go hiking in a nearby park, but the weather was not cooperating.  Later that night we went out for a quick burger and (of course) I forgot to take a picture of it, but trust me- it was delish.  My first burger in……?? I couldn’t even tell you.  Sometimes you just need a big greasy burger after a night of fun, huh? 😉

Monday morning came WAY too quickly and it was time for my in-laws to make the 10 hour voyage back home.  I made sure to get up early with them and fill their bellies with blueberry/lemon quinoa pancakes and bacon before they left.  It was so sad to say goodbye to them.  We were so happy the entire time they were here, enjoying each other’s company and spending quality time together.  We are already looking forward to seeing them when we return to Iowa for the holidays in December.  Living far away from your family isn’t easy, but it does make you realize how special family is.  You definitely don’t take any time spent together for granted.

If you’re still reading at this point…thank you!  I had a lot I wanted to touch base on from our weekend and share with you.

What is your favorite activity to do with your family?

For us it depends on the time of the year.  We like to play board/card games, fish, go on the river/boat, watch football or basketball games, and eat!  Sometimes spending time in the kitchen cooking and catching up on life is…the BEST!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael permalink
    10/17/2012 8:17 pm

    This was a great weekend and you captured all of the highlights! Love you sweety.

  2. 10/18/2012 8:25 pm

    It truly was a great weekend! Alisha is the best host and we loved trying all the food she made for us! Yes market was the best besides sending time together. Noticed that you didn’t mention the diplomatic voting on which trunk to keep! Love ya both.

  3. 10/19/2012 7:05 pm

    That party spread looks amazing!

    This might sound kind of strange, but my family and I love taking the dog on a walk. There’s a really nice trail near my parents’ house 🙂

Leave a Reply

