Skip to content

Saffron and Spinach Un-Burrito Bake

10/10/2012

I declared today “operation spinach”!  Last week I purchased a 2.5 bag of spinach.  When I woke up this morning I decided I need to finish it….TODAY!  It’s looking like 24 hours away from being sad and wilted. haha

For breakfast I went with the classic green monster smoothie in a bowl.

1 cup nonfat milk (I’m out of almond milk), 1 ripe banana, 1 TB chia seeds, and spinach to the top of the blender. What….you’ve never put spinach in your smoothies? 😉

Topped with fiber one cereal and a spoonful of peanut butter (no almond butter in the house).  I really like eating smoothies soup “style”.  I crave SIAB more when the weather is nice and hot!  Even though the weather is in the upper 30’s when I woke up….it was still delicious and hit the spot.  With a large coffee to warm me up 🙂

For lunch I roasted some broccoli and potatoes with dried basil, dried thyme, s/p, olive oil and of course…crushed red pepper flakes!

Served over a bed of spinach with a little shredded cheese and turkey deli meat. Sorry this picture is blurry- I was in a hurry to eat apparently haha plus an apple.

Dinner was a serious goodie. So good, in fact, that it was the second time I made it in 4 days.  That neverrrr happens in this household!  Must mean it was a hit.   The key ingredient that made it out of this world:

Authentic turkish saffron!  The husband brought some back for us after his trip to Turkey this past May (I know…he’s a lucky duck!).  After our whirlwind of a summer with the wedding and relocating from Minnesota to Ohio, I finally brought it out to make a meal with it. What better time to make it for Michael after his return home ?  I give you:

Saffron Spinach Un-Burrito Bake

If you’re looking for a meal with new flavors….this it IT people!  It will bring you out of your boring rut of eating the same variety of flavors day after day.

The line-up for this dish includes:

1 TB turmeric

1 Tsp Saffron Threads

1 T Olive Oil

3/4 Cup Brown Rice

2.25 Cups of Chicken or Vegetable Broth (I was out of both so I used water instead)

1 Small Onion

Pinch of Salt (I probably used 1/2 tsp)

Cook together either in a rice cooker (be sure to use brown rice setting) or on stovetop.

Meanwhile, mix together:

-1 TB Chili Powder

1 Tsp Coriander

Pinch of salt/pepper

Juice of 1 lime

2 cups black beans(or 1 can- be sure to rinse all of that sodium/salt off)

And finally saute 16 cups of fresh spinach:

Grab a 8×8 baking dish and layer half of the spinach, all of the rice, all of the beans, the rest of the spinach and top with your cheese of choice.

Bake at 375 for 20-30 minutes, until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Serve with another squeeze of lime, avocado, greek yogurt, hot sauce or salsa.  Inspired from the cookbook Simply in Season.

We ate ours with some lime tortilla chips.  It was sooo out of this world! Seriously…really delish.  If you give this recipe a try, I’d love to know what you think of it!  Overall- we finished the bag of spinach!  #missionaccomplished

“Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.”

-Albert Camus

 
One Comment leave one →
  1. 10/10/2012 8:48 pm

    This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

