Skip to content

Tea Time

10/07/2012

Hope you’re having a great weekend and staying warm!  It’s 45 degrees in my neck of the woods and I’m freeeeeezing my little toes off.  My husband and I are being way too stubborn to cave into turning the heat on just yet….so I’m typing this wearing two sweatshirts and a stocking hat on (inside). Please tell me I’m not the only one doing this- haha.

My husband came home Thursday morning after a 9 day business trip to Arizona.  Trust me when I say that it was a very, very long 9 days without him.  Anyone who has relocated far away from family and friends will understand what I mean 😉  BUT it feels fantastic, awesome and wonderful to have him home!  He brought me a fun surprise-

An adorable coffee mug and a variety of my favorite teas! I mean come on, how cute is that!  The guy knows me too well to know how excited a cute coffee mug would make me 🙂

Some recent eats-

Chicken curry salad- aahhhmazing! I chopped half of a leftover piece of chicken into pieces and mixed it with greek yogurt, curry powder, red pepper flakes (what DONT I eat with this??), and 1 small apple.  I served it on 2 pieces of 100% whole wheat bread.  I also finished the rest of my grape chia kombucha drink.  Kombucha is crazy good for you and I personally love the taste.

Potato and jalapeno “hash”.  I roasted one small russet potato and jalapeno with lots of spices (chili powder, cumin, s/p, cayenne, paprika, garlic powder) and topped it with an over easy egg.  Annndd then smothered in hot sauce.  The spicier the better, my friends.

I went to the market this past Thursday to stock up on food for the week.  My purchases included:

Tomato sauce, yogurt, onions, milk, really surprisingly awesome lime/sea salt tortilla chips, salsa, pumpkin puree, eggs, deli turkey, brown rice, chicken breast, dried black beans, corn tortillas and shredded cheese.  The cheese was on sale so I decided to stock up.  I put 2 packages in the freezer to use next week.  I also wrapped each chicken breast individually before freezing them.

And the “fun” food from the market-

Mini pumpkins, butternut squash, 2.5 pounds of spinach (!!), broccoli, cherry tomatoes, brussel sprouts and limes.  I bought the pumpkins to use as decor for the time being- but I do plan on cooking with them later on.  I promise I’ll do a post on how I end up using them!  The spinach was a random purchase- a vendor was selling the 2.5 lb bags for 2 dollars.  TWO DOLLARS!  I had to get it.  The total price for all of the veggies….11 dollars!  Crazy, huh?  I love my marketplace.

The first thing I made after buying groceries-

A very random salad with spinach, turkey, grape tomatoes, 1 small apple, olives, s/p, and spicy brown mustard.  It was as weird and it sounds but oh so good!

Our Sunday has been filled with watching football (how about that packers game?!) and drinking insane amounts of tea to try and keep warm.  Hopefully the bears pull through with this game…. here’s to hoping!

Do you watch football?  Who is your favorite NFL team?

(Goooo Chicago Bears!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley Blosch permalink
    10/07/2012 11:12 pm

    Welcome home Mr. Michael! Hope you guys enjoyed that bears victory!! 🙂 Stay warm, snug time! two peas in the big bead!! love you!!

    • 10/08/2012 12:05 pm

      Thanks sugar plum! Love you too! Thanks for commenting and reading!

  2. 10/08/2012 10:41 am

    Those little pumpkins are so cute! I love autumnal decorations.

    I don’t watch football, but I live in Pittsburgh, which is absolutely crazy about it. I like when games are on because that’s when the grocery store and gym are the emptiest 😛

    • 10/08/2012 12:04 pm

      hahaha- I can imagine the gyms/grocery stores are very empty!

  3. Ting Tseng permalink
    10/08/2012 1:30 pm

    Seeing those tea bags make me laugh! Michael and I had a competition during the center….has he showed you the snack bar yet?

    • Alisha permalink*
      10/08/2012 1:58 pm

      haha! Michael said you were able to snag more than double what he did…nice work! He also sent me pics of the snack bar when you were all there….looked awesome!

Leave a Reply

