Skip to content

I’ve Won The Jackpot!

09/30/2012

How was everyone’s weekend?  I spent mine apple picking and shopping with some friends 🙂  

And I purchased a 5 pound bag of honey crisp apples for 6.95!!!  A friendly reminder- honey crisp apples (the BEST in my humble opinion) usually run for 3.99/lb.  I rarely purchase this kind of apple because it’s too hard for me to justify when I know I can get a different kind for a lot less.  I cannot believe I found this awesome deal.  I mean!!!!  It was like winning the jackpot.  Made my day.

We also found an adorable Amish market that sold some very inexpensive spice blends.

Chicken rub, ground coriander, curry powder and cinnamon- all for about $5! Is this real life?! haha

And I can’t forget my favorite seasonal item-

Homemade pumpkin butter! Have you ever tried this before? I encourage you to buy it- it’s really delicious.  I like to use it as a jam and put a scoop of it on my oatmeal or on toast.  Lots of ways you can use this!

Sundays are a great day to prepare yourself for a healthy week.  It’s the perfect day to grocery shop, meal plan and have a tentative plan for your fitness for the week.  Here is what I am planning on doing for my workouts:

Monday:  weights and HIIT

Tuesday: active rest- yoga class

Wednesday: 2-3 mile trail run

Thursday: active rest- yoga class

Friday: power yoga class

Saturday: power yoga class

Sunday: 3-4 mile trail run

I purchased a big haul of groceries last Saturday and am challenging myself for it to last 11 days.  This is what I am planning on making with what we will have left for the next few days:

Sunday: Indian lentils and homemade naan

Monday: Chicken, potato and jalapeno hash

Tuesday: Sausage stuffed acorn squash

Wednesday: Black bean soup

I always double the recipe that I make for dinners so that lunch for the next day is ready to go. Thursday I will be grocery shopping – my favorite market is open Thursday-Saturday (soo cool, right?!)

Do you meal and fitness plan for the week? What’s on the menu?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Alysha @Shesontherun permalink
    10/01/2012 12:39 pm

    Your snagged a total deal with those Honeycrisps! I’ve seen them for $3.99/lb at the grocery store (even though I would take an orchard apple any day of the week!)

    • 10/01/2012 4:26 pm

      I totally agree! Apple orchards this time of the year are the best 🙂

  2. courtneybentley permalink
    10/02/2012 12:47 am

    What a fun fall activity! I have to grab my girlfriends and check this out! I have never had Pumpkin butter but would love to try some! My favorite thing to do is carve pumpkins and roast the pumpkin seeds with sea salt! HEAVEN! I plan out my week and food prep big time! I love opening my fridge and eating not having to figure out measurements or cleaning anything up! Once and DONE! Love and Shine CourtStar

    • 10/02/2012 10:35 am

      Roasting the pumpkin seeds is half the fun of carving the pumpkin! 🙂 You’ll have to let me know what you think of the pumpkin butter if you try it. Thanks for your comment!

  3. 10/02/2012 3:07 pm

    I try to plan my week’s workouts ahead of time…but things always get shuffled around.

    I DEFINITELY do meal planning every Sunday night! I don’t know how people survive without it??

    • 10/03/2012 8:07 pm

      Believe it or not the majority of people I know don’t meal plan! I agree though- it’s a survival tool for me as well 🙂

      • 10/03/2012 8:35 pm

        Maybe it’s because I hardly ever eat in restaurants, but grocery shopping without a plan sounds so stressful! I’d just end up buying lots of ice cream 😉

Leave a Reply

