Skip to content

This Is Not Dance Class

09/28/2012

Whenever I join a new gym, I like to take every class that they offer so I can get a feel for how great are or how…..not great they are 😉   Last night I decided to attend 3 classes back to back: Hi/Low Cardio, Tone and Sculpt, and Yoga.  Since the first class had a very vague title, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  It ended up being mostly kickboxing!  Which is absolutely hilarious because I’d never taken a kickboxing class.  During the punch/jab(?) part the instructor said, “This isn’t dance class!  I need you to pop, pop, pop, pop”.   I’m pretty sure she was calling me out.  I’m clearly a dancer 🙂  It was okay, though.  I got a pretty good cardio workout and a good laugh! It honestly isn’t my cup of tea, so I probably won’t be attending again unless I’m really desperate for something different.

After my 2.5 hour workout, I came home to finish making my stuffed acorn squash with sausage and apples. Ummmmmm, amazing!

Stuffed Acorn Squash with Sausage and Apples

2-3 Large Acorn Squash

1 lb turkey sausage

1 onion (diced)

1 gala apple (diced)

2 pieces of toasted WW bread (cut into cubes)

3/4 cup nuts (I used soy nuts)

1 TB greek yogurt

1/2 ts each dried thyme, basil and oregano

(Adapted from the cookbook Simply In Season)

Cut squash in half and remove seeds and strings.  Place cut side down on lightly greased baking sheet.  Bake at 350 until soft, 40-50 minutes.  Remove from oven, fill with filling (below) and bake at 375 for another 20 minutes.  (Note- I halfed this recipe when I made it)

(Before I removed the seeds)

Side note- when I bought the turkey sausage, I put them in individuals bags before they went into the freezer- this way I can pull one out at a time when I cook with it.

Brown turkey sausage in large skillet.  Add onion and apple and saute until just tender.  Add remaining ingredients. (Is that a major dash of crushed red chili peppers I see?)

Fill the cooked squash with filling and bake at 375 for another 20 minutes.  Feast!

Here is my serving:

I’m going to be honest- I was saving the other half for my lunch today.  But I ate it.  Let’s be serious.

Let me know if you try this sweet and spicy mix!  I just love acorn squash.

Have you tried all of the available classes at your gym? 

Have a great weekend!  Make it a great one!  GO HAWKEYES! ❤

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/02/2012 3:06 pm

    “But I ate it. Let’s be serious.”

    Ha! Story of my life.

    I actually really like kickboxing! It’s a great, low-impact way to get cardio going.

  2. Emily permalink
    10/15/2012 7:58 pm

    Alisha! I love your blog so much! I just made the sausage stuffed acorn squash and wow, so delicious. You are such an inspiration! I can’t wait to try more of your recipes!

Leave a Reply

