Skip to content

Welcoming Fall and Market Finds

09/24/2012

It’s officially fall!  I hope everyone had a great weekend welcoming my favorite season of the year.

My Saturday morning started bright and early with yet another glorious power yoga session (‘m loving being a yogi 😉 ) followed by a quick stop to the grocery store and then the local farmer’s market.

      

      

I’m not sure whether it was the 50 degree weather or that it was before 11 am, but the market was not nearly as busy as usual.  I was able to take my time and gawk at all of the beautiful produce.  (Apple season is here!)

All of my purchases:

My plan is for all of the above food to last me for 11 days.  Challenge accepted.   Quick guesses as to how much this all cost me?

Each week I will purchase our protein, dairy and grains at the grocery store.

Almond butter (finally back in my life!), 100% pure pumpkin puree, hot salsa, quinoa, eggs, pure vanilla extract, greek yogurt, almond milk, 100% whole wheat bread, mint tea (squeal!), goat cheese, deli turkey, hot turkey sausage, and dry black beans.

The veggie line up includes

Green onions, bananas, russet potatoes, green leaf lettuce, jalapenos, strawberries, green peppers, gala apples and acorn squash.

While I realize that the bananas and strawberries are clearly not locally grown, I am still purchasing them locally (which in my opinion is the better option).   Everything else you see is locally grown!  Total price for all of the above vegetables…..drumroll…..

$13! 

My total cost for entire grocery haul was $70. I’d say that is a pretty great deal for two people to last us 11 days.  Granted, we have a few other staples in the house that I will use throughout the week as well.

Some meals I am planning on making:

  • Apple Lentil Salad
  • Roasted potatoes with turkey sausage, green peppers and garlic sauce
  • Sausage and apples over pasta
  • Roasted and stuffed savory acorn squash

Are there any of the above that you would like to see the recipe and how-to for?

The rest of our Saturday was spent cleaning the house and watching the Iowa Hawkeyes (sadly lose in the last 30 seconds).

At least the loaded baked potato soup I made was delicious 😉

What do you typically spend on groceries for the week?

How did you spend your weekend welcoming the new season?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/25/2012 8:47 am

    Gala apples are my favorite! They’re so crisp and sweet.

    My husband and I usually spend about $60 on groceries each week, but we very rarely eat out (maybe once or twice per month). Being vegetarians helps the budget.

    I didn’t know there are Giant Eagles in Ohio; I thought they were only here in Pittsburgh 😛

    • 09/25/2012 9:47 am

      You’re right- gala apples are the best! $60/week on groceries is awesome and I totally agree being vegetarian helps. We’ve very recently starting eating more meat and as a result our budget has gone up a little.

      We’re so new to this area that I’m still learning about everything, including Giant Eagle! I didn’t know they were in Pittsburgh, either 🙂 Thanks for your comments!

  2. Cathy Twait permalink
    09/25/2012 12:24 pm

    This is awesome Alisha! I’m going to be a faithful follower!

  3. Ashley Blosch permalink
    09/25/2012 12:52 pm

    I would love to hear about the sausage and apples over pasta! This is a concoction of my favorite words!!

    • 09/25/2012 12:53 pm

      Yes ma’am! I’ll be sure to post that one 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

