Skip to content

Buffalo Pumpkin Chicken

09/21/2012

Crockpots are a beautiful kitchen appliance.  It’s like having a food candle lit throughout your home for the entire day-  the smell of delicate meat simmering away without any worries.  They are simple, humble and always come to the rescue for me when I decide to cook with meat.  I wouldn’t consider myself a major carnivore, nor a vegetarian.  I suppose my eating habits are somewhere in-between.  I’ve recently decided I need to up my protein intake, which is why I am cooking and eating more meat than what is normal for me.  I know my husband, Michael (aka: food-tester), is loving my protein kick!  He never complains when I cook vegetarian meals….but he jumps for joy when I make us a meal with some meat. 🙂

I wanted to go with a unique flare for this chicken.  We are rather low on groceries (Saturdays are our market shopping days!) so some creativity was required of me (no almond butter in the house is a sad, sad story). I put together this concoction in the crockpot and crossed my fingers that it would turn out.  It was a winner! It is juicy, tender, and really flavorful.  You are first hit with a hint of pumpkin and then you get the spicy ending.  It’s very niiiiice 🙂

 Buffalo Pumpkin Chicken 

1 12 oz bottle pumpkin ale beer (I would imagine any ale beer you have on hand would work well)

1/3 Cup franks buffalo sauce (I used extra spicy!)

6 cloves of garlic (I left them whole)

3 chicken breasts

1 T apple cider vinegar

2 T honey

1T dried chives

1 T onion powder (I would have preferred to use 1 whole onion, but was out)

Salt and Pepper to taste

  

Throw all the ingredients into the crockpot, set to “low” and forget about it for 4-6 hours.  Take the chicken out and shred it using two forks.  Return it to the crockpot and let it simmer with the juices for another hour.  FEAST!

You could use this shredded chicken in sooo many different ways- I had some whole wheat pitas on hand so that’s how I decided to serve it.  I also had a head of cabbage (locally grown) and whipped up a quick batch of coleslaw that I put in the pita with the chicken.

The coleslaw recipe I used included caraway seeds, which has a very powerful and distinct flavor-almost like a rye.  It was delicious on it’s own, but not necessarily with the chicken.  The caraway seeds overpowered the chicken!  I wouldn’t recommend mixing the two together like I did.  Lesson learned!

For the side I made a hot “german” green bean dish- delicious!  Great meals are made complete with a glass of wine 😉

After an AMAZING power yoga session and 1.5 mile run this morning, I returned home to replenish with a juice.  The line-up:

Head of romaine lettuce, 1/2 lemon, 1 carrot, 1 apple and 1 beet with the greens (ALL LOCAL)!

In the words of Rachael Ray- YUMO!  haha.  But seriously, I love me some juice!

I’m hoping to get a quick post in this weekend on what I purchase at the market tomorrow morning.  Tune in then 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ting Tseng permalink
    09/23/2012 9:01 am

    That Juice is my favorite! Good job Alisha~

  2. Sherine permalink
    09/23/2012 7:04 pm

    This sounds yummy! I will give this recipie a try (I wonder how it would be without the hot sauce). Also, what do you use to juice? Do you use a blender or a juicer?

    • 09/24/2012 12:45 pm

      Thanks, Sherine! Let me know how you like the recipe. I’m sure it would be just fine without the buffalo sauce- but sure to add a little more beer to replace the 1/3 cup of it, though). I use a juicer! My blender is for smoothies. (A juicer literally extracts all of the juice out of the fruit/veggie and leave the pulp behind, while a blender blends everything together). Thanks for looking at my blog!

Leave a Reply

